YouTube Private vs Unlisted – What’s the Difference?

youtube private vs unlisted
0 Shares

Everyone knows YouTube; it’s the site that offers every layman the opportunity for fame. However, that’s not always the case. If you’re someone who wants to place your videos up for your own personal use, or wanted limited view instead of the entire internet, then there’s a solution, two actually – go private, or unlisted.

So, what’s the difference?

Well, that’s what this guide is for. Here, you’ll learn everything you need to know about YouTube private vs unlisted.

Changing your Video Privacy

Uploading a video is a piece of cake, but changing its settings to limit the views can be a little difficult to understand. However, we’re here to help. To upload a video, here’s what you have to do:

  • Step 1: Go to YouTube and log into your account. There, on the upper right corner, you might see the camera icon.
  • Step 2: Head onto the Upload Page. There, you’ll see the option named “public.” Click on it, and the drop-down options will appear.
  • Step 3: Click on the private or unlisted option. Now, you can easily upload the video from your computer.

It’s as easy as that! 

YouTube public private unlisted

Features Public Private Unlisted
Can share URL Yes No Yes
Can be added to a channel Yes No Yes
Shows in search, related videos & recommendation Yes No No
Posted on your channel Yes No No
Shows in subscriber feed Yes No No

Your mobile is in your hand all the time, which means more people are switching to mobile browsing. There’s hardly any time to read, which is why most of the content online is based on videos. No wonder YouTube is such a hit. There are several platforms gaining traction, but YouTube offers variety and security. No one more than a fifth of the world’s population opts for it!

One of the best things it offers is giving you the option of how to share your videos. With its security, you don’t have to think twice about the kind of people who would view your videos. It’s all about the privacy you choose to set. Of course, it’s difficult to know which to choose when you don’t understand the options, so let’s dive into each option in more detail:

What is a Public Video on YouTube?

A public video is YouTube’s default setting. Anyone anywhere can see your video. It applies to all videos, and through this, your video is able to come up in Google results as well. But that’s only if you’re comfortable with it. If not, you can always change it.

Advantages of a Public Video

Most people don’t prefer public settings, but it comes with its own set of advantages. These include:

  • A rise in brand awareness
  • You can attract more customers through a large number of subscriptions. After all, the more subscriptions you have, the more credible you are.
  • An average person can become a superstar.

Disadvantages of a Public Video

  • When you’re in public, you expose yourself to several people, and that’s the YouTube public option for you. Here are a few disadvantages that come with it:
  • You get to face several views that don’t align with you. That means you also become a victim of bullying and trolls.
  • If you make controversial videos, it might come back and impact any job opportunities that come your way.
  • YouTube public videos are forever. If you post something and want to remove it later, the chances are that most people have already shared it on several platforms. It doesn’t truly get removed.

What is a Private Video on YouTube?

On the other side of YouTube is an option of private video. Unlike the public video, in this, you have the liberty to invite people to view your video. If someone searches for your video, it will not appear in the search list unless you specifically move it to public.

Advantages of a Private Video

Personal videos can be quite troublesome to share with several people individually. That’s one of the main difference between unlisted and private Youtube is that the YouTube private video option helps you do – share your private video without sending it to anyone. Also, you get to decide who can view it. Here are a few more advantages to a Private video.

  • Building your own library
  • Save space

Now that we know the advantages let’s look at them in more detail.

Content for the Family

Distance makes it difficult to connect with your family and share important events in your life. Footages are a great way to capture them, and once you place them in the private section, you’ll be able to share those milestones with them without hassle.

Creating resumes online

Standard portfolios or resumes can be quite dull, but video resumes have seriously taken a hit for the better. Through the private option, you can create your video and share it only with your employers. That way, you wouldn’t have to go through the hassle of sending it, and they wouldn’t have to go through the hassle of downloading it.

Organizational Internal Uses

Videos are effective tools for training, updates, and sharing company policies. Usually, uploading it on the internet makes it unsafe for the organization, and sending it individually is quite time-consuming. The best thing to do is upload it as a private video so that it’s only visible to the employees.

What is Unlisted on YouTube?

Have you ever thought what does unlisted mean on YouTube? Let’s say you have a video that you don’t want to keep private, but you don’t want it to appear in search results or suggestions, then what do you do? Well, the solution is simple; you make the video unlisted. This way, when you share the link with anyone (even those without a Google account), they can easily view it. This is, in fact, one of the main differences between difference between private and unlisted youtube.

Advantages of an Unlisted Video

When looking at private vs unlisted youtube video settings, you need first to understand the unlisted video’s advantages. Much like private videos, unlisted ones have several advantages as well. Here are a few advantages that might grab your attention:

  • Through unlisted videos, you can very easily share your portfolio with employers.
  • You can also receive co-worker feedback.

Now that we have seen the advantages let’s look at them in more detail.

Organize Your YouTube Page

Through the unlisted option, you can very easily remove unwanted videos from your YouTube and lessen the cringe you’ve managed to gather up over the years. However, if you still want the people who have already shared the video to view it, you can very easily move the settings to unlisted.

1. Website access

You have your own blog or website, and you’ve recently noticed that you get more traffic with videos embedded in it. You want to embed your own videos, but they need to be public for that. Not really! You can easily opt for the unlisted option and get your videos linked to your blogs or website.

2. Testing Phase

Do you want to see how people will react to your videos? Well then, put them up in unlisted first and sample out the video. Once you see that you’re receiving quite a bit of positive feedback and the video is gaining a lot of reviews, you can move it for the public to see.

3. Scheduling Your Videos

When you upload your video is very important, and this is especially helpful when you have an unlisted video. You can simply schedule the video for upload, and it’ll be up without so much of your own input.

In the end, it’s important to understand your own use of the video. On that basis, you can move the settings to YouTube public, private, or unlisted. If you want to keep your videos safe from the public, then it’s often better to make the video private. However, that, too, depends on the usage. Once you evaluate the purpose of your upload, you can easily determine whether which setting would be a better fit for you.

Related Articles

Conclusion

So there you have it – we have discussed everything regarding private and unlisted YouTube in this article. Simply dive into the details and equip yourself with information about how the two are different from each other.

0 Shares

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
0 Shares
Share
Pin
Tweet